- Licensing & CE
- Public Adjuster
Effective May 1, 2023, our new exam vendor is Pearson Vue. Individuals may now schedule exams online with Pearson Vue. Please use this link to access a list of study materials.
Title 38, Chapter 48 of the South Carolina Code of Laws details the definitions and mandates for public insurance adjusters who practice business in South Carolina.
Public adjuster licenses are renewed in October of even-numbered years. The fee is $80 unless you are a resident of a state that charges a fee in excess of $80 (e.g., the fee for North Carolina residents is $230 and the fee for Georgia residents is $115). Public adjuster fees are retaliatory under SC Law so the amount charged by South Carolina will be the amount charged by your home state, subject to an $80 minimum.
Resident Public Adjusters
- Apply online through NIPR.
- Pay the license fee of $80. The fee is not pro-rated and is non-refundable and non-transferable. Provide the original South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) report. You may submit this using NIPR's Attachment Warehouse or by emailing the Licensing Division.
- Applicants must pass a state examination prior to applying for a license through NIPR. Exam certificates expire 12 months after issuance. Contact Pearson Vue directly at 877-759-5226 or schedule online to register for the state licensing exam and/or view exam content outlines.
Non-Resident Public Adjusters
- Apply online through NIPR.
- Pay the license fee of $80. The fee is not pro-rated and is non-refundable and non-transferable. If you are a resident of a state that charges a fee in excess of $80, that rate will be assessed as fees are retaliatory under South Carolina Law. For example, the fee for Georgia residents is $115. The fee for North Carolina residents is $175.
- If the applicant's home state does not require an adjuster examination, then a certificate can be used from another state where the applicant is licensed and has taken and passed an adjuster examination.
- If the above cannot be provided, then the applicant will be required to pass South Carolina's adjuster examination. Contact Pearson Vue directly at 877-759-5226 or schedule online to register for the state licensing exam and/or view exam content outlines.
If you have any additional questions, please visit our FAQs:
Consumers & Public AdjustersWhen you file an insurance claim, your insurance company generally assigns an adjuster at no charge to you. However, in some cases you may also hire another type of adjuster known as a public adjuster. Public adjusters are independent insurance professionals who will work on your behalf and help with the filing, investigating, appraising, and settlement of a claim. The public adjuster charges a fee for their services, usually a percentage of the settlement amount.
In South Carolina, public adjusters must pass an examination and be licensed by the Department. Be sure to always check references and qualifications of any public adjuster you are considering. Click here to view a List of SC Licensed Public Adjusters.
To view additional information regarding public adjusters' legal requirements, standards of conduct, contract requirements, etc., please see Title 38, Chapter 48 of the South Carolina Code of Laws. A couple of helpful definitions are included below:
- "Public insurance adjuster" means any individual who, for salary, fee, commission, or other compensation, engages in public adjusting and who is licensed under Section 38-48-20. A public insurance adjuster is not an attorney licensed to practice by the South Carolina Supreme Court who adjusts insurance losses in the course of the practice of law. A public insurance adjuster is not an adjuster representing an insurer and is not licensed in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 47.
- "Public adjusting" means investigating, appraising or evaluating, and reporting to an insured in relation to a first party claim arising under insurance contracts, that insure the real or personal property, or both, of the insured. Public adjusting does not include acting in any manner in relation to claims for damages to or arising out of the operation of a motor vehicle. Public adjusting does not include any activities which may constitute the unauthorized practice of law.