Title 38, Chapter 43 of the South Carolina Code of Laws defines the regulations and requirements for insurance producers and agencies. Agency licenses are renewed in January of even-numbered years. The fee is $40.
- In order to maintain the agency license, an agency must pay the license fee and have at least one licensed and appointed producer assigned to the agency. Any business transacted by an agency or producer with a lapsed or canceled license shall constitute the unauthorized transaction of insurance business and is subject to regulatory action.
- The requirement for an agency license does not apply to any agency owned by, and operated under, the name of an individual licensed producer, so long as no other person, firm or entity has any interest in, or affiliation with, the business of the individual producer or their agency. This type of agency is considered a sole proprietorship.
- No such agency shall be licensed under a name which is likely to lead a person of average intelligence to believe that the agency is an insurer, an agency of any government, or a club, fraternity, association, or social or military organization, or which is otherwise deceptive or misleading. Foreign corporations, limited partnerships and other entities are required by law to be registered with the South Carolina Secretary of State's Office. Contact the Secretary of State's Office by calling 803-734-2158.
- Only one license is required for each agency and a separate license is not required for branch office locations unless the agency has more than one federal employer identification number (FEIN) number.
Any changes made within the agency that differ from the information on the initial agency application (i.e., name change, change in ownership, licensed producer, etc.) must be submitted in writing to the South Carolina Department of Insurance.
CHANGE OF AGENCY ADDRESS
S.C. Code Section 38-43-107 requires agency owners to notify the Department within 30 days of any address change. Agencies can update their address online by using the User ID and Password assigned to the agency by the Department. Failure to keep a current agency address will result in administrative penalties being assessed against the agency. If the agency owner cannot remember the User ID and/or Password, please send an email to the Department’s Technology Division.
Steps to Obtain an Agency License
The agency must have at least one South Carolina licensed producer. Only then can the agency submit the following documentation to the South Carolina Department of Insurance:
Online Renewal Instructions (NIPR)
You must have your home/resident state agency license number and FEIN or NPN to renew on NIPR. (The agency NPN can be obtained when you begin the renewal electronically)
Agencies renewing online through NIPR will receive immediate confirmation of renewal status. However, there is a processing fee of five dollars ($5) for online renewals through NIPR.
- On NIPR’s home page, click “Renew"
- Click on “Resident Licensing Renewals”
- Select "South Carolina"
- Click on “Renew Here”
- Select “Business Entity”
- Complete one of the identification options that will identify the licensee on the Producer Database (PDB) and follow the remaining onscreen instructions.
- On NIPR’s home page, click “Renew”
- Click on “Non-Resident Renewals”
- Under RLR State Requirements, click on “Renew Here”
- On the “Use Agreement” page, scroll to the bottom of the page and select “Accept”
- On the next page (Non-Resident Licensing page), select your home state in the “Resident State” drop-down box. Then, enter your home/resident state license number.
- Select “Business” for the “License Type”
- Select “Apply to renew an existing Non-Resident license”
- Enter your FEIN or NPN
- To obtain the NPN, select the National Producer Number button and follow the onscreen instructions
- After entering the required information, click “Next”
- The next page will show the License that is being renewed. Click “Next”
- Follow the remaining instructions to complete the renewal of the agency license.
Paper Renewal Instructions
- Print a copy of the renewal application (Complete all spaces and answer all questions on the application)
- If your address, FEIN number or designated responsible producer has changed, update it on the renewal application.
Sign the properly completed application and mail it to the Department with a $40 check made payable to the SCDOI.
The Department's mailing address is: