Continuing Education

**NOTICE**  The Department will no longer be mailing hard copy renewal notices to licensees. Please visit SBS to update your email address.

A newly passed S.C. law allows licensed producers with 25+ years of licensure and who are aged 65 and older to be exempt from CE requirements. An online application must be completed to request the CE exemption. Please refer to the Bulletin for any questions you may have about this new law or the application process. Please go here to complete the online application.

An amendment to Regulation 69-29 was recently passed revising the producer training requirements for Suitability in Annuity. Please access our FAQ's  for the amended training requirements for producers and provider questions on submitting new courses for approval.

All resident producers, who are not CE exempt, must complete the 24 hours of CE before the renewal becomes available on NIPR. Resident producers should complete their CE hours at least one week in advance of their expiration date.


Effective July 8, 2019, you will log onto SBS’ website to view your CE transcript and South Carolina license information. 
  1. Compliance Requirements
  2. Providers, Courses, & Instructors

South Carolina Regulation 69.50 details the continuing education requirements for individuals qualified or licensed to act as insurance producers in this state.

  • Resident producers subject to a continuing education (CE) requirement may comply by earning 24 credit hours in each two-year period ending with the producer's month and year of birth. Producers born in an even numbered year must comply by the end of the birth month in even numbered years. Producers born in an odd numbered year must comply by the end of the birth month in odd numbered years.
  • Resident producers who hold multiple lines of authority must complete a minimum of 8 hours in each line of authority in addition to the required 3 hours of Ethics to be compliant.
  • Non-resident agents may comply by meeting the requirements of their home state.
  • All South Carolina licensed resident insurance producers should first check the approved continuing education course list before taking a CE course. Courses taken from an unapproved sponsor or instructor will be declined.
  • If you successfully complete an approved course, you may not repeat the course and receive certification within two years of its original completion date.

Read our Continuing Education Reminder Notice