Show All Answers
Drivers are required to carry liability and uninsured motorist coverage with the following limits: $25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person / $50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident / $25,000 Property Damage Per Accident
No. Underinsured coverage (which covers you when the at-fault party in an accident doesn't have enough insurance to pay for all of your losses) is not mandatory in SC. However, uninsured motorist coverage (which covers you when the at-fault party does not have insurance or causes an accident and leaves the scene) is required in SC.
The South Carolina Department of Transportation (877-349-7190) requires liability and uninsured motorist with limits of 25/50/25 for oversize/overweight vehicles. Also, check with the Public Service Commission at 803-896-5230 for additional information on vehicles for hire such as taxis, buses, etc.
In order to verify that a company offered you the optional underinsured motorist coverage, the company must have a signed form from you confirming whether you do or do not want the optional coverage. The form may also provide the option for you to increase the amount of coverage you have for liability and uninsured motorist coverage in addition to offering you the underinsured motorist coverage. You are required to fill out the form and return it to the company for their records; otherwise, the company will add the underinsured motorist coverage to your policy and rate you for the coverage. The South Carolina Department of Insurance does not have a copy of your form, so if you have additional questions, you should contact your insurance agent for further clarification.
Yes, as of 3/1/99, there is no mandate to write automobile insurance. You must shop around to find a company that will insure you. If you cannot find a company to insure you, then you will need to contact the Associated Auto Insurers Plan of South Carolina (AAIPSC) at 866-560-4100.
Yes. Agents provide quotes based on the information you provide them at the time of the quote. They can start your policy based off that quote, but the company does a more thorough review of driving records, accident history, payment history, etc. and determines the final rate based on the individual company’s rating plan.
Rental Car and Portable Electronics companies must contact our office for a copy of the license.
If the name and FEIN are changing, a new license must be applied for.
A self-addressed stamped envelope is required with the written request sent to the Department.
Effective January 1, 2010, South Carolina law allowing continuing education exemptions have been repealed. Consequently, an exempt producer adding a new line of authority will lose their exemption status; therefore, that producer will have to complete continuing education hours by the end of his/her compliance period. In addition, once a producer adds a line of authority the producer cannot request that the Department remove that line of authority to retain his/her exemption status.
However, if an exempt producer adds a line of authority within 90 days of their compliance period ending that producer will not have to complete continuing education hours in the new line of authority for that compliance period, but that producer will have to complete continuing education in the existing line of authority.
For example: An exempt producer who holds life and health with a December birth month of an even year and adds property and casualty to their existing license, that producer will lose their exemption status. The producer will have to complete 24 hours of continuing education in life and health line of authority, regardless of when the new lines are added.
If the producer adds property and casualty, October 3, 2014 prior to their compliance period ending December 31 of the same even year, that producer will not be required to complete continuing education in the new line of authority (property and casualty) during their compliance period.
If the producer adds property and casualty on or before October 2, 2014 prior to their compliance period ending December 31 of the same even year, that producer will be required to complete continuing education in the new line of authority (property and casualty) for their compliance period.
Effective January 1, 2010, South Carolina law allowing a reduction in continuing education hours has been repealed. Consequently, producers who have reduced continuing education hours who add a new line of authority to their producer license will lose their continuing education reduction hours status and will have to complete the required 24 hours of continuing education by the end of their compliance period.
For example: A producer with reduced continuing education compliance who holds life and health with a December birth month of an even year and adds property and casualty to their existing license, that producer will lose their reduced continuing education hours compliance. The producer will have to complete 24 hours of continuing education in life and health line of authority, regardless of when the new lines are added.
View the Consequences of Failure to Comply page for information.
Producers that received a reduction in hours will have to complete 15 hours of CE biennially by the last day of their birth month/year; three of the 15 hours must be in Ethics. Producers with reduced compliance and hold multi-lines must complete six hours in Property and Casualty; six hours in Life, Accident, and Health; and three hours of Ethics. Producers that add additional lines of authority or allow their licenses to become inactive will lose their reduction in hours.
You may access a list of approved courses on SBS.
Effective July 1, 2019, the Department is now the CE administrator. You may direct your questions directly to the Department or to SBS.
Hardship waiver requests may only be granted for good cause and must be made in writing to the South Carolina Department of Insurance prior to the end of your compliance period. The license renewal fee must be paid to the South Carolina Department of Insurance by your compliance period deadline. The request for a hardship waiver must be received prior to the end of the producer’s compliance period.
Effective July 1, 2019, resident producers are no longer required to pay a CE reporting fee. Resident producers are still required to complete the 24 hour requirement and pay the renewal fee to remain compliant.
View the Consequences of Failure to Comply page for non-compliance information.
The course provider must give you a certificate of course completion. This information will also be submitted electronically to SBS by the provider.
You will not be required to provide your social security number, but you must provide your South Carolina license number.
Producers can verify their credits and compliance status on SBS.
A total of 24 hours is required by the end of your compliance period. Of those 24 credit hours, at least three hours must be from courses categorized as Ethics.
Extensions will not be granted.
There are no CE requirements for non-resident producers.
Your company can non-renew for any reason so long as the two requirements mandated by law are met. First, the company is required to put in writing the precise reason for the non-renewal. Second, the company must give 60 days’ advance notice for any non-renewal. Section 38-75-740.
There is, however, one exception. A policy can be non-renewed for claims even if the claims have not been your fault, though the law does not allow non-renewals for claims history if your only claims have been acts of God. Acts of God claims cannot be used when determining claim frequency. Section 38-75-790.
Generally, your policy can be canceled for these reasons:
Adjusters, appraisers and public adjusters who are licensed in their home state can also change their address online at www.nipr.com. Adjusters, appraisers and public adjusters who are not licensed in their home can change their address online by using the Department’s online services and creating an account at https://online.doi.sc.gov/Eng/Members/Individuals/CreateNewAcct.aspx. Once the account is created, the licensee needs to log into the system to update the address. This can be done at https://online.doi.sc.gov/Eng/Members/Login.aspx. Agencies can change their address by using the Department’s online services. Each agency is assigned a user id and password when the agency becomes licensed in South Carolina. The user id and password is sent to the agency with the new South Carolina license. Agencies can change their address online at https://online.doi.sc.gov/Eng/Members/Login.aspx. If the licensee is unable to change the address online, the address change must be submitted via US mail and must be signed by the licensee.
The licensing division will not accept email or faxed address change requests. In addition, we will not accept third-party or unsigned address change requests.
*Nonresident Adjusters, Appraisers and Public Adjusters see note below.
When the laws of another state require a higher fee the nonresident shall pay an amount equal to the amount of charges imposed by their home state.
Cancel the license in the previous home state. After the license is canceled, submit an application online to NIPR (www.nipr.com) along with the license fee. A letter of clearance from the home state is not required if South Carolina can verify on the State Producer Licensing Database (SPLD) that the license has been canceled in the previous home state. To exempt the state licensing examination the producer must submit an application within 90 days of canceling the license in the previous home state. If the license in the previous home state has been canceled for more than 90 days, in accordance with South Carolina law the individual is required to take South Carolina’s licensing examination. All applicants for a resident producer license are now required to be fingerprinted.
If applying for a resident license, submit a completed application, copy of NASD registration or series 6 or 7 test results and a $25 license fee. If the individual does not hold a Life license in South Carolina, then Life and Variable must be applied for at the same time.
Before selling long term care insurance in South Carolina, the producer must provide proof to the insurer that 8 hours of long term care training has been received. Thereafter, every two years the individual must provide to the insurer documentation that 4 hours of long term care training has been completed. Long term care training is only for producers who sell long term care insurance policies. Resident producers must complete South Carolina’s training requirements.
Contact PSI at 833-518-7457 or register to take the exam at PSI’s website at home.psiexams.com.
Fraternal benefit policy laws differ and additional information on this issue can be referenced in Title 38, Chapter 38 of the SC Code of Laws.
10 Things You Should Know About Buying Long-Term Care Insurance Shopper's Guide to Long-Term Care Consumer Alert - Long-Term Care Insurance: What You Should Know Take the Insure U long-Term Care Quiz
Section 38-71-2200 of the SC Code of Laws, as amended, defines a Pharmacy Benefit Manager as follows:
‘Pharmacy benefits manager’ means an entity that contracts with pharmacists or pharmacies on behalf of an insurer, third party administrator, or the South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority to:
(a) process claims for prescription drugs or medical supplies or provide retail network management for pharmacies or pharmacists;
(b) pay pharmacies or pharmacists for prescription drugs or medical supplies; or
(c) negotiate rebates with manufacturers for drugs paid for or procured as described in this article.
It creates a new PBM license and establishes other requirements for PBMs. It also authorizes the South Carolina Department of Insurance to promulgate regulations to enforce the provisions of the new law.
Yes. Regulation 69-77, Pharmacy Benefit Managers, is the new regulation promulgated to implement the provisions of Act No. 48 of 2019 regarding the licensure and regulation of pharmacy benefit managers.
The PBM license application window is October 1, 2020- December 1, 2020. Detailed instructions for PBM licensure is available on the PBM webpage on the South Carolina Department of Insurance website. PBM licenses will become effective on January 1, 2021.
The PBM will not be authorized to operate in the state of South Carolina until proper licensure is obtained. An unlicensed PBM is subject to a fine of up to $10,000 per violation pursuant to Section 38-2-30 of the S.C. Code of Laws of 1976, as amended.
No. The PBM Application Requirements Checklist is for internal use only, but can function as a guide for all required documents necessary to obtain a PBM license and to ensure approval is granted in the most efficient manner.
You can access the application and process fee payments via the NIPR website. The required supplemental application can be found on NIPR’s State Specific Requirements page and on the Department’s PBM webpage. Once completed, the application and supporting documents may be uploaded electronically via NIPR’s Attachment Warehouse or emailed directly to the PBM Office's email at PBMDept@doi.sc.gov.
Once the license becomes active, an email notification will be sent to each entity with a copy of their PBM license. PBMs can also print their license on the StateBasedSystem.com.
Each entity should review the definition of PBM and make a determination that every function the entity performs falls solely under the PBM license. If the entity performs additional functions that fall outside of the definition of PBM, then the entity may fall outside of the PBM license authority, and the TPA license would be required in addition to the PBM License.
PBMs can complete the PBM Information Change Form and submit it to the Office of PBM Oversight at PBMDept@doi.sc.gov
Pharmacy providers may complete the PBM Complaint Form and email, fax or mail it to the Office of PBM Oversight along with any supporting documentation that would assist in the complaint process. Providers may also complete the Online PBM Complaint Form and submit the form and attach all supporting documents on the SCDOI website.
Consumers should continue to contact the Office of Consumer Services to file a complaint. Consumer Services can be reached at (803) 737-6180 or you can email your question to firstname.lastname@example.org.
To apply for an SC Safe Home grant, please visit Apply for a Grant on the SC Safe Home webpage and submit an application via the online portal. Video tutorials are available to assist applicants with the application submission process, as well as these slides.
If you are having trouble logging in, click Reset Password on the login page of the SC Safe Home webpage. From there you will be prompted to enter the email address you used to sign up for the SC Safe Home website. If the email address you enter is valid, a password reset link will be sent to the email address.
No, the program cannot reimburse you for retrofits you have already done, in accordance with state law. You must have an inspection and receive grant approval from the SC Safe Home before the retrofits are done to be eligible.
To qualify for a SC Safe Home grant, the home must meet the following requirements; the home must be located in the coastal region of South Carolina, must be owner-occupied, primary residence, site built or manufactured/modular, must not have existing previous damage, and the home and homeowner together must not have previously received and utilized a SC Safe Home grant.
It is sometimes necessary to submit changes or corrections to an application submission. If any errors are identified in a submission they must be corrected. To make these corrections, contact the SC Safe Home staff at (803) 737-6087 and our staff will be happy to make the necessary changes for you.
You may check the status of your application by logging into the SC Safe Home online portal.
Approved recommended improvements must be completed within three months of the date of the Grant Award Notification letter.
It is the responsibility of the homeowner to contact a wind inspector. It is also the responsibility of the homeowner to pay the certified wind inspector for the Wind Inspection Report. Please note that wind assessments and reports will not exceed $250.00. Inspection fees are now based on the sliding scale below.
≤ 1,500 square feet; up to $150
1,501 to 2,000 square feet; up to $200
> 2,000 square feet; up to $250
SC Safe Home requires the estimate for the retrofit to be submitted along with the completed SC Safe Home grant application. SC Safe Home encourages homeowners to “shop” the list of participating contractors to get more than one estimate for the specified retrofits. Please request proof of insurance and licensure from the contractor of your choice.
No, the funds provided by this program are for the sole purpose of retrofitting South Carolina owner-occupied, single-family homes.
If the status bar is highlighted in green, the South Carolina Safe Home program is currently accepting new applications. If the status bar is highlighted in yellow, the South Carolina Safe Home program is currently accepting limited new applications. If the status bar is highlighted in red, the South Carolina Safe Home program is not accepting new applications.
No, in order to qualify for a SC Safe Home grant, the home must not have existing or previous damage.
No, the funds provided by this program are for the sole purpose of retrofitting owner-occupied, single-family homes.
SC Safe Home has implemented an online application process to ensure efficiency and to provide better customer service and communication. The online application will allow you to keep track of your application’s tasks and status throughout the process. Free internet access is available at all public library locations. In addition, there are many free, web-based email providers that are currently available to suit your needs and it only takes a few minutes to create an email account. You may submit a paper application, however, the application will be received in a timelier manner when submitted electronically.
Currently, the Department of Insurance SC Safe Home program awards grant funds to Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper, Marion and Williamsburg counties.
All grants will be determined based on the cost of the mitigation project and a percentage of the total adjusted household income of the applicant as per the most recent federal income tax return. However, once funds are exhausted for the year, the program will cease issuing new grants.
This is determined by your household income. To help determine which grant you may qualify for, please visit the Estimate Calculator.
If the cost of the mitigation project exceeds the amount of the grant award, the remaining cost is the applicant’s responsibility.
You will need a (1) copy of your latest 1040 or other income tax return, (2) a copy of your homeowner’s insurance declaration page, (3) a copy of your county tax assessment and (4) a SC Safe Home Inspection Report of your home completed by a participating SC Safe Home Inspector who will also collect (5) photographs of the home.
If you're having a specific problem with an insurance company, broker, agent, or adjuster, file a complaint with our Office of Consumer Services at doi.sc.gov/complaint.
Yes. Fortification measures that are in accordance with the standards that are contained in the South Carolina Safe Home Resource Document for Mitigation Techniques qualify for tax credits. You may find additional information regarding these mitigation techniques in the documents below.
Section A. Introduction
Section B. Roof Deck Attachment
Section C. Secondary Water Barrier
Section D. Roof Coverings
Section E. Gable End Bracing
Section F. Reinforcing Roof to Wall Connections
Section G. Opening Protection
Section H. References and Resources
Yes. A homeowner does not have to be a recipient of an SC Safe Home grant to qualify for income tax credits. However; all qualifying fortification measures must meet the requirements of the South Carolina Department of Insurance Regulation 69-75.
No. Tax credits cannot be claimed if the only money spent on the fortification project was grant money that was not included in income on the homeowner’s individual income tax return. See S.C. Code Sections 12-6-3660 and 12-6-3665. Refer to the help tools and resources of the IRS for further federal tax questions.
Questions concerning mitigation techniques that may qualify for tax credits should be directed to the SC Safe Home Program. Questions and concerns regarding SC tax credits should be directed to the South Carolina Department of Revenue.