South Carolina Department of Insurance
1201 Main Street, Suite 1000
Columbia, SC 29201

Bulletin Number 2020-10

To: All Pharmacy Benefit Managers Doing Business in this State, and Other Interested Parties
From: Raymond G. Farmer
Director of Insurance
Subject: Application Filing Timeline for Pharmacy Benefit Managers; Compliance with S.C. Code Ann.
Section 38-71-2210 /:4 ¢
Date: September 15, 2020 ? %._/ v "
I.  Purpose

The purpose of this bulletin is to establish filing timelines for Pharmacy Benefit Managers (PBMs) applying
for licensure under Article 21 of Chapter 71, Title 38 of the South Carolina Code of Laws. 2019 SC Act No. 48 (R.
68, S. 359), most of which becomes effective January 1, 2021, requires all PBMs currently operating in this
state under licensure as Third-Party Administrators (TPAs) to be licensed as a Pharmacy Benefit Manager.

The South Carolina Department of Insurance (SCDOI) promulgated Regulation 69-77 to implement 2019 SC
Act No. 48. This regulation provides that the SCDOI will publish a timeframe for transitioning licenses from
the TPA license to a PBM license. This bulletin is published in accordance with that requirement.

What follows is the timeline for such TPAs to submit the initial application, and all it requires, to provide
pharmacy benefit manager services in South Carolina. Additionally, anyone entering the market as a PBM
must be licensed to do so before providing pharmacy benefit manager services.

II. Filing Timeline for Transitioning TPA Licenses to PBM Licenses Under 2019 SC Act No. 48

Pharmacy Benefit Managers must be licensed as such beginning January 1, 2021 to operate in this State and
provide pharmacy benefit manager services. The application window will begin on October 1, 2020 and the
final deadline for all applications will be December 1, 2020. Any entity not properly licensed as a PBM on or
after January 1, 2021 will be subject to administrative action pursuant to S.C. Code § 38-2-10 through § 38-2-

30.

PBM Initial Application Begins October 1, 2020

PBM Initial Application Deadline* December 1, 2020
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https://www.scstatehouse.gov/sess123_2019-2020/bills/359.htm
https://doi.sc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/12996/SC-Code---R-69-77-PBMs-as-Approved

*Applications received after December 1, 2020 may result in a delay in the review process and are not
guaranteed to have a license issued by January 1, 2021.

III.  Filing Requirements for PBM License

Electronic Application:
PBM'’s can apply online through nipr.com. All supporting documentation and $1000 initial application fee can

be uploaded and submitted via the NIPR website.

Paper Application:

PBM'’s can download the paper PBM Application from the Department website. All supporting documentation
can be emailed to PBMDept @doi.sc.gov. The initial application fee of $1000 can be made by check and mailed
to the Department at the address above.

Please be advised that any application which is deemed incomplete or unresolved for more than 30 days
will be subject to denial, administrative action, or both.

Plgrsu nt to Regulation 69-77, beginning in 2022, licenses shall ll)f,renew d annually no later than March 1%
of each year by submitting a renewal application, a $500 renewal license fee, and all requisite supporting

documentation. The renewal application window will begin 90 days prior to license expiration on March 1% of
each year. Renewal applications submitted after March 1 will be subject to an initial license fee and may be
subject to administrative action for any period of time for which the PBM license is not active.

IV. Questions

PBMs should regularly check the PBM webpage (doi.sc.gov/pbm) for additional information relative to the
application process and related information.

Questions regarding this bulletin, the application process or any PBM-related matters should be submitted

via email to PBMDept@doi.sc,gov and include complete contact information (company name, phone number
and email address for follow-up). You may also contact the Office of PBM Oversight via telephone at

(803)734-0398.

Bulletins are the method by which the Director of Insurance formally communicates with persons and entities regulated by the Department.  Bulletins
are departmental interpretations of South Carolina insurance laws and regulations and provide guidance on the Department’s enforcement approach.
Bulletins donot provide legal advice. Readers should consult applicable statutes and regulations or contact an attorney for legal advice or for additional
information on the impact of that legislation on their specific situation.
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