On May 16, 2022, Governor Henry McMaster signed into law Senate Bill S. 158 which amends Section 38-43-106 of the South Carolina Code of Laws relating to continuing education requirements for licensed insurance producers. The amended section now provides an exemption to continuing education requirements for insurance producers “who have twenty-five years or more of licensure and are sixty-five years of age or older.”
Licensed producers meeting the qualifications for exemption under the amended section may apply for exemption by completing the application form found at doi.sc.gov/continuing-education. Following receipt of the exemption request, this Department will review its records to verify the information stated in the application. Additional documentation may be requested.
If a portion of the 25 years of licensure was through another state, the applicant must provide appropriate documentation from the other state department of insurance certifying licensure status. The 25 years of licensure also does not have to be continuous to qualify for an exemption if the applicant can demonstrate a total of 25 years’ licensure.
The licensure period will be calculated based on the date the applicant first received his or her producers’ license regardless of the line of authority upon which the license was issued.
Any questions regarding the CE Exemption process should be emailed to CE@doi.sc.gov .
Bulletins are the method by which the Director of Insurance formally communicates with persons and entities regulated by the Department. Bulletins are Departmental interpretations of South Carolina insurance laws and regulations and provide guidance on the Department's enforcement approach. Bulletins do not provide legal advice. Readers should consult applicable statutes and regulations or contact an attorney for legal advice or for additional information on the impact of that legislation on their specific situation.