
Assistance From the South Carolina Department of Insurance 
 

If you do not receive a prompt, courteous and satisfactory response to your inquiry from 

your insurance company, you may need the assistance of the South Carolina Department of 

Insurance.  The division of Consumer Services can provide general information on the laws 

regarding cancellations, non-renewals and refusals to write.  It can also provide claims and 

coverage information to consumers. 

 

The South Carolina Department of Insurance will: 

Thoroughly investigate your complaint. 

See that you receive a response to your inquiry. 

Answer any questions about what the insurer is required to do under South Carolina 

law. 

 

The South Carolina Department of Insurance cannot: 

Provide legal advice. 

Force a favorable action if your complaint is not supported by facts and laws.  

Why Should I Buy 

Auto Insurance? 
 

 

South Carolina law allows  
eligible consumers to legally 
drive uninsured. However, if 
you drive legally uninsured 
and cause an accident, you 
may be responsible for the 
losses of the other person (s) 
involved.  

 

A claim may be filed against 
you for those losses. You may 
have to pay not only for the 
property damage you cause, 
but also for the medical ex-
penses, wages, and pain and 
suffering of any injured per-
son (s).  

 

Auto liability insurance cover-
age is designed to protect you 
from personal liability for 
these types of losses. Liability 
insurance also pays for an  
attorney to defend you 
against any claim or lawsuit 
filed against you. 

Overview of South Carolina’s Auto Insurance Laws 

KNOW THE LAW 

1) ANY eligible consumer may legally 
drive uninsured in South Carolina by 
paying an annual fee of $550 to the 
Department of Motor Vehicles.  

 

However, if that consumer is in-
volved in an accident, he/she will be 
personally liable for damages caused 
to the property or person (s) of the 
other vehicle and any passengers in 
his or her own car. 

 

2) CONSUMERS have to provide 
proof of insurance or authorization 
to legally drive uninsured upon the 
request of law officers. 

 

3) INSURERS no longer have to in-
sure all vehicle owners regardless of 
risk. An insurer may refuse to write 
auto insurance, but cannot base  the 
refusal on income level, race, creed, 
national origin, ancestry, marital 
status, or lawful occupation, includ-
ing military service. 

4) THE South Carolina Associated 
Automobile Insurers Plan (SCAAIP) 
provides insurance to eligible South 
Carolina consumers who are unable 
to obtain coverage from private 
companies. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

During the past few years,  important 

changes have been made to auto  

insurance in South Carolina in an 

effort to lower the costs of insurance 

for  South Carolina drivers.   

 
Auto Insurance 

Facts and Tips 
from the South Carolina Department of Insurance 

Call, Write or Visit 
 
The South Carolina  
Department of  
Insurance  
 
1201 Main Street 
Suite 1000 
PO Box 100105 
Columbia, SC 29201-
3105 
 
803-737-6180 
800-768-3467  
(SC only) 
 
www.doi.sc.gov 
consumers@doi.sc.gov 

South Carolina Department of Insurance 
1201 Main Street, Suite 1000 
PO Box 100105 
Columbia, SC 29201-3105 



Your Consumer Rights... 

 If you are refused automobile insurance for one of the reasons listed above and for no other reason, the 

actions taken by the insurance company may violate South Carolina law. 

 If your policy has been in effect for 90 days or more, the insurance company cannot cancel your policy 

for the remainder of the policy term unless you fail to pay the premium on time or you or any operator in your 

household who customarily operates your automobile has had their license suspended or revoked. 

 If the insurance company cancels or non-renews your policy, they must give you notice, in writing, of the 

reasons for the cancellation or non-renewal of your coverage. The notice must tell you that you have the right to 

appeal the decision to the South Carolina Department of Insurance (DOI) and must inform you of the availability of 

other insurance through another insurer. 

 An insurance company cannot non-renew your automobile insurance policy solely on the basis of any 

one of the following factors: 

Lawful occupation, including military service; 

Lack of driving experience or the number of years of driving experience; 

One or more accidents or violations that occurred more than 36 months immediately preceding the upcoming 

anniversary date; 

One or more claims submitted under the uninsured motorists’ coverage of the policy where the uninsured 

motorist is known or there is evidence of physical contact; 

One claim by an insured under the medical payments coverage or medical expense coverage due to an acci-

dent for which the insured was neither wholly nor partially at fault; 

One or more claims submitted under the comprehensive or towing coverages under certain specific condi-

tions; 

Two or fewer motor vehicle accidents within a 36 month period unless the accident was caused either wholly 

or partially by the named insured a resident of the same household, or customary operator. 

Insurers may refuse to renew policies for false or fraudulent claims.  An insurance company may also modify com-

prehensive and towing coverages at the time of renewal. 

 

 

Within 15 days of your receipt of the notice of cancellation or non-renewal, you or your attorney may request in 

writing to the South Carolina Department of Insurance a review of the action taken by the insurance company.  

The Department  will determine  if the insurer’s cancellation or non-renewal complies with South Carolina law. 

If the Department finds that the cancellation or non -renewal violated South Carolina law, the Department notifies 

the company and the policy holder that the cancellation is not effective.  However, the Department cannot substi-

tute its judgment for that of the company as to the underwriting of the policy.  South Carolina law also requires 

that the insurance company inform the policy holder in writing if the rate level they are charging is higher than the 

lowest rate for that  Insurance company. 

It is important to know your rights: South 

Carolina law prohibits an insurance company from 

refusing to issue an automobile policy solely for     

discriminatory reasons that include income level, 

race, creed, national origin, ancestry, marital status, 

or  lawful occupation, including military service. 

If you are turned down for 

insurance… 

Contact your agent or insurance 

company immediately if  

You believe that the company 

has improperly refused to 

issue or renew  a policy. 

 

It is your right to question 

that company’s decision and 

to file a complaint with the 

agent , company and the SC 

Department of Insurance. 

 

Keep copies of all information 

for your files. 

 

Keep a written record of the 

dates and times of your con-

versations. 

 

You are entitled to an expla-

nation of the reasons for re-

fusal or non-renewal. 

 

If you are turned down by one 

company, try another.  Do not 

assume that you will be 

turned down by all compa-

nies. 

 

If you are unable to obtain 

auto insurance from any in-

surance company, any agent 

certified by the SCAAIP can 

obtain insurance for you 

through the SCAAIP.  This is a 

market of last resort, there-

fore the premium will be 

higher. You will also be re-

quired to meet certain eligibil-

ity  criteria to obtain this cov-

erage. 

How to Shop Around 

 

HELPFUL  TIPS... 

 

Different insurance companies 

charge different rates for the 

same coverages.  When com-

paring different companies, 

you will want to remember the 

following tips: 

 

1) Compare premiums for 

each coverage, then com-

pare the total cost for 

each policy. 

2) Ask about discounts and 

what is required to qualify 

for them (e.g.. Homeown-

ers, renter’s insurance, life 

health, multi-car, good 

student and safe-driver). 

3) Consider if you only need 

liability coverage; i.e., if 

your vehicle is 10 or more 

years old and you can 

afford to repair or replace 

your vehicle, you may 

want to drop collision and 

comprehensive coverage.  

It may save you money. 

4) Ask about other discounts 

that are available (e.g., air

-bag, automatic restraint 

systems, anti-theft de-

vices). 

5) Start shopping around at 

least 45 days before your 

policy is up for renewal. 

6) If your policy is cancelled 

or non-renewed, begin 

shopping around as soon 

as you receive the notice 

from the insurance com-

pany, 

7) Your credit history can be 

a factor in determining 

rates. 

Since the removal of the mandate to write automobile insurance in South Carolina, many insurance companies 

have entered the market.  This means increased competition and more companies to choose from when purchas-

ing auto insurance.  The most important thing for a consumer to do is to shop around for insurance. 

 

The rates charged for auto insurance are competitive.  This means that different insurance companies are charg-

ing different prices  for auto insurance.  Choosing your auto insurance company is much like choosing any other 

product.  Price is important but it is not the only factor that should be considered.  Before purchasing automobile 

insurance coverage, you should contact a number of agents to find the best combination of service and price for 

your insurance needs. 

 

1. It is important to know how much insurance you need.  If you know what you need, you are less likely to 

purchase unnecessary coverages. 

2. Call several agents or visit them on-line and ask them to provide you a  quote on how much the premium will 

be for the amount of coverage you are seeking. 

3. Once you have narrowed your search to the companies with the best range of prices, you should consider 

each company's reputation for financial stability, policy holder service, underwriting practices and claims 

handling practices.  Service is difficult  to measure, so ask friends what company they use and visit the De-

partment’s website, www.doi.sc.gov to learn more about a company. 

Information You Will Need To Provide  

When shopping for automobile insurance coverages, it is important that all shoppers be prepared 
to provide the following information to each insurance agent or company in order to receive an 
accurate and complete quote: 
 
1. Complete description of vehicle 
2. Description of how the vehicle is used 
3. Your driver’s license number and driver’s license numbers of all licensed drivers in the house-

hold 
4. Driving record information for yourself and all customary operators 
5. Accident claims information for each driver 
6. Type of coverages and limits needed 
7. Collision and comprehensive deductible amount 
8. Proof of ownership of vehicle 
9. Proof of  continuous or prior insurance. 

What to do if your policy is cancelled or non-renewed 

 


