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SOUTH CAROLINA
CONTINUING EDUCATION

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS

1. Who is required to meet the continuing education requirements?
All licensed resident producers in South Carolina who are not exempt must
complete 24 hours of continuing insurance education including 3 hours of ethics
and pay the CE recordkeeping fee.

Extensions will not be granted.

2. Who is exempt from meeting the CE requirements?
 An insurance producer licensed for limited lines is exempt from the provisions of

Section 38-43-106.

CREDIT HOUR & COURSE INFORMATION

1. How many credit hours must I earn to meet the requirements?
A total of 24 hours is required by the end of your compliance period, and of  those
required  24  credit  hours,  at  least  three  hours  must  be  from  courses  categorized  as
Ethics.

Extensions will not be granted.

2. What if I hold life, accident and health and property and casualty lines of
authority?
If you hold property and casualty and life, accident and health authorities, you must
complete at least eight of the twenty-four required hours in courses related to each
of these lines of authority, plus three hours of Ethics. If you earn more than three
Ethics credits, they will be applied towards your 24 hours credit requirement.

3. What if I received a reduction in CE hours by December 31, 2009?
Producers that received a reduction in hours will only have to complete 15 hours of
CE biennially by the last day of their birth month/year. Three-hours must be in
Ethics. Producers with reduced compliance and hold multi-lines must complete 6
hours in Property & Casualty, 6 hours in Life, Accident and Health and 3 hours of
Ethics. Producers that add additional lines of authority or allow their licenses to
become inactive will lose their reduction in hours.

4. Can I repeat a CE course within the biennial period?
If you successfully complete an approved course, you may not repeat the course
and receive certification within two years of its original completion date.
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5. Can I carry over credits to the next biennium?
Producers who accumulate credits in excess of the continuing education
requirements for a biennium may apply a maximum of 18 credits to the next
compliance period.

6. How will I know which courses will qualify for continuing education credit
hours?
You may access a list of approved courses on Prometric’s Web site:
www.prometric.com. On advertisements, look for courses which have been
approved for South Carolina continuing insurance education credit. If you have
any doubt, call Prometric at 1.800.490.6551. You may also request a listing of all
approved courses and sponsors by calling Prometric.

7. Can I receive CE credit for maintaining an insurance designation?
Yes. Credit hours earned to maintain the following designations may be used
toward the 24 hour credit requirement: Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU), Fellow,
Life Management Institute (FLMI), Certified Financial Planner (CFP), Life
Underwriter Training Council Fellow (LUTCF), Registered Health Underwriter
(RHU), Registered Employee Benefit Consultant (REBC), or Chartered Financial
Consultant (CHFC) for a life, accident, and health license, or Chartered Property
and Casualty Underwriter (CPCU) or Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC) for a
property and casualty license. Many courses for maintenance of a designation are
already approved for CE credit. Verify with the sponsor whether the course is
approved for South Carolina CE credit. If so, you will receive credits in the normal
manner. If not, send evidence of course completion to Prometric with a cover letter
to claim the credits.

8. How can I contact the CE administrator?
Contact Prometric by e-mail at pro.ce-services@prometric.com, by phone at
1.800.490.6551. Program information and additional services are available at their
Web site: www.prometric.com.  The mailing address is:

Prometric Operations Center
Attn: Continuing Education Processing

7941 Corporate Drive
Nottingham, MD 21236

9. What is required of a proctor/disinterested third party?
In accordance with the changes to Regulation 69-50 regarding proctor approval,
we are no longer approving proctors. Producers are no longer required to use a
state approved proctor to proctor their continuing education courses. They may
now use any disinterested third party to proctor their exam. That third party may
not be their employer, employee, supervisor, relative, spouse, or minor.

NONRESIDENT REQUIREMENTS

http://www.prometric.com
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1. How do nonresident licensed producers comply with CE requirements?
Nonresident producers are not required to comply with CE in South Carolina.
They must meet the CE requirements of their home state.

FEES

1. What is the CE reporting fee?
The biennial fee is $15.00. Resident producers subject to the CE requirement
must pay the CE reporting fee. The fee must be paid biennially by the last day of
your birth month/year. Producers cannot be compliant if the fee is not paid even if
other requirements have been met.

2. How can I pay the fee?
Prometric will send a fee notice to your address of record 90 days prior to the end
of your compliance period. You may pay your reporting fees on Prometric’s web
site: www.prometric.com.

You may also pay by check, American Express, Visa or MasterCard. Make checks
payable to Prometric and mail to:

Prometric Operations Center
Attn: Continuing Education Processing

7941 Corporate Drive
Nottingham, MD 21236

3. What happens if I fail to pay my fee by the last day of my birth month?
Your license will lapse. If the fee is paid late, in addition to payment of the fee a
$50 late penalty fee must be paid to the South Carolina Department of Insurance.
You cannot be compliant unless the fee is paid. See FAQ 30 for details about
consequences of non-compliance.

FILING AND COMPLIANCE DEADLINE

1. What is the date by which I must complete 24 hours of South Carolina CE?
On June 2, 2009, the Governor signed into law Act No.69. This new law requires
all licensed producers except limited lines producers and exempt producers to
complete continuing education (CE) requirements biennially by the end of their
birth month. Producers born in an odd numbered year must comply biennially by
the end of their birth month every odd numbered year. Producers born in an even
numbered year must comply by the end of their birth month every even numbered
year. Producers must also renew their license by the end of their birth month in an

http://www.prometric.com
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odd or even numbered year. No one is exempt from the producer licensing
renewal requirement except limited lines producers with travel baggage only.

EXEMPTIONS, EXTENSIONS AND HARDSHIP EXTENSIONS

1. How can I apply for Continuing Education (CE) exemption or a reduction in
CE hours?
South Carolina law allowing exemptions and reduced continuing education hours
was repealed effective January 1, 2010. No new exemption requests or reduced
continuing education hour requests will be processed. Producers who were
granted an exemption or a reduction in continuing education hours prior to January
1, 2010 will remain exempt or will continue to have a reduction in continuing
education hours. However, exempt producers or producers with a reduction in
continuing education hours who add a new line of authority or allow their license to
become inactive will lose their exemption status or lose their reduction in
continuing education hour status and will be required to comply with all CE
requirements.

2. What happens if exempt producers add a line of authority to their producer
license?
Effective January, 2010, South Carolina law allowing continuing education
exemptions have been repealed. Consequently, exempt producers who add a new
line of authority to their producer license will lose their exemption status. In
addition, once a producer adds a line of authority the producer cannot request that
the line of authority be removed to retain his or her exemption status.

3. Can I receive an extension beyond my compliance deadline?
No, South Carolina law allowing extensions has been repealed effective May 2,
2010.

4. What if I get critically ill or cannot work or take courses?
Hardship waiver requests may only be granted for good cause and must be made
in writing to the South Carolina Department of Insurance prior  to  the  end  of  your
compliance  period. The CE recordkeeping fee must still be paid to Prometric and
the license renewal fee must be paid to the South Carolina Department of
Insurance by your compliance period deadline. The request for a hardship waiver
must be received prior to the end of the producer’s individual compliance period.

REPORTING CREDIT HOURS AND COMPLIANCE

1. How will credit hours be counted and reported?
The course sponsor must give you a certificate of course completion. They must
also provide this information to Prometric, the CE Administrator, electronically or
on an approved roster approved by the Department. Sponsors may obtain an
approved roster by contacting the Department’s Continuing Education Division.
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2. Am I required to provide my Social Security number to CE sponsors or to
Prometric?
No. Prometric’s system only accepts your South Carolina license number. You
must provide your South Carolina license number.

3. How will I demonstrate that I have completed the CE requirements to the CE
Administrator?
Producers can verify their credits and compliance status at Prometric’s web site:
www.prometric.com or by calling Prometric’s toll-free number at 1-800.490.6551.

4. How will I know if I have not complied with my CE requirement?
Approximately 90 days before your compliance deadline Prometric will mail a
warning notice to the address of record for each resident who is not yet compliant.
Producers should contact Prometric to find out if they have complied with CE.

5. How will my company know that I have completed the required CE hours?
On or about July 1, 2014, Prometric will furnish each insurer a report of the
continuing education status of all of its resident producers with a CE requirement.
In addition, insurers can perform a search of South Carolina’s database to
determine which producers have lapsed for their company.

.  
REQUIREMENTS FOR NEWLY LICENSED PRODUCERS

1. What are the requirements for a newly licensed resident producer?
A total of 24 hours is required by the end of your compliance period. At  least  three
hours  must  be  from  courses  categorized  as  Ethics of those 24 required credit
hours. In addition, a biennial fee of $15.00 is required. Resident producers
subject to the CE requirement must biennially pay the CE reporting fee by the last
day of their birth month/year. Producers cannot be compliant if the fee is not paid
even if other requirements have been met.

Extensions will not be granted.

2. What are the requirements for a newly licensed nonresident producer?
Effective January 1, 2012 nonresidents are no longer required to pay a CE fee to
Prometric.

ADDING A NEW LINE OF AUTHORITY

1. What happens if exempt producers add a line of authority to their producer
license?
Effective January 1, 2010, South Carolina law allowing continuing education
exemptions have been repealed. Consequently, an exempt producer adding a new
line of authority will lose their exemption status; therefore, that producer will have
to complete continuing education hours by the end of his/her compliance period. In
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addition, once a producer adds a line of authority the producer cannot request that
the Department remove that line of authority to retain his/her exemption status. 

However, if an exempt producer adds a line of authority within 90 days of their
compliance period ending that producer will not have to complete continuing
education hours in the new line of authority for that compliance period, but that
producer will have to complete continuing education in the existing line of authority.

For example: An exempt producer who holds life and health with a December birth
month of an even year and adds property and casualty to their existing license,
that producer will lose their exemption status. The producer will have to complete
24 hours of continuing education in life and health line of authority and pay the
record keeping fee to the Continuing Education Administrator, Prometric,
regardless of when the new lines are added.

If the producer adds property and casualty, October 3, 2014 prior to their
compliance period ending December 31 of the same even year, that producer will
not be required to complete continuing education in the new line of authority
(property and casualty) during their compliance period.

If the producer adds property and casualty on or before October 2, 2014 prior to
their compliance period ending December 31 of the same even year, that producer
will be required to complete continuing education in the new line of authority
(property and casualty) for their compliance period.

2. What happens if a producer with reduced CE compliance adds a new line of
authority?
Effective January 1, 2010, South Carolina law allowing a reduction in continuing
education hours has been repealed. Consequently, producers who have reduced
continuing education hours who add a new line of authority to their producer
license will lose their continuing education reduction hours status and will have to
complete the required 24 hours of continuing education by the end of their
compliance period.

For example: A producer with reduced continuing education compliance who holds
life and health with a December birth month of an even year and adds property and
casualty to their existing license, that producer will lose their reduced continuing
education hours compliance. The producer will have to complete 24 hours of
continuing education in life and health line of authority and pay the record keeping
fee to the Continuing Education Administrator, Prometric, regardless of when the
new lines are added.

If the producer adds property and casualty, October 3, 2014 prior to their
compliance period ending December 31 of the same even year, that producer will
not be required to complete continuing education in the new line of authority
(property and casualty) during their compliance period.
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If the producer adds property and casualty on or before October 2, 2014 prior to
their compliance period ending December 31 of the same even year, that producer
will be required to complete continuing education in the new line of authority
(property and casualty) for their compliance period.

3. Will I receive credit for adding a new line of authority during the compliance
period?

No. The laws have been changed to remove a requirement for pre-licensing
education. Hence, no CE credit will be awarded based on completing such a
course for adding an additional line of authority.

4. When can a producer cancel a line of authority from his or her producer
license?
A producer has until 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time) on the last day of their
birth month to cancel a line of authority. 

5. When is the cutoff date for adding a line of authority without having to
complete the required 8 hours of continuing education for the new line of
authority? 
If an additional line of authority is added within 90 days of the continuing education
deadline, the producer is not required to complete the required 8 hours in the
newly added line of authority

CONSEQUENCES OF FAILURE TO COMPLY

1. What happens if I do not earn my CE credit hour requirements or pay my
recordkeeping fee?

The failure of any resident licensee to pay the recordkeeping fee and/or meet the
biennial continuing education requirement will result in the lapse of the producer
license on the day following the licensee’s compliance deadline. Resident
producers have six months to reinstate a license by completing all requirements,
which includes completing credit hours, paying a recordkeeping fee to Prometric
and paying a $50 late CE compliance fee to the South Carolina Department of
Insurance. The Department of Insurance will notify Prometric when the $50
penalty fee has been paid and Prometric will notify the Department when all CE
requirements have been completed. When this process is completed, the license
and appointments will be reinstated.

If your license lapses, you cannot conduct any business of insurance. If you have
an agency or broker license, they will likewise lapse and remain lapsed until your
producer license is reinstated 
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If all requirements are not completed within six months, the license and all
appointments will cancel. In order to regain licensure the resident producer will be
required to retake and pass the state licensing exam and meet all requirements to
become re-licensed.

2. What happens if I do not renew my producer license?
Failure to renew the license will result in the lapse of the license on the day
following the licensee’s compliance deadline. Producers may reinstate a license by
paying a penalty fee to the South Carolina Department of Insurance. The amount
of the penalty fee is based on the date the license is renewed. If renewed within
30 days the penalty fee is $50; if renewed within 31-60 days the penalty fee is
$100; if renewed 61 days and after the penalty fee is $250.00. If renewal is not
completed within six months of the license being lapsed, the license and all
appointments will be canceled. To regain licensure the producer will be required to
reapply and meet all the requirements of a new applicant.


