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I. PURPOSE OF THE BULLETIN 

Today, Governor Mark Sanford signed into law, the Omnibus Coastal Property 
Insurance Reform Act of 2007. Over the course of the next few weeks, the Department 
will issue a series of bulletins to provide guidance on the implementation of the 
provisions of this legislation. This is the first bulletin in that series. A complete copy of 
the legislation and pertinent bulletins will be available on the Department's website at 
http://www.doi.sc.gov. 

The purpose of this bulletin is to highlight some of the more significant changes effected 
by this legislation. A section-by-section summary follows. 

II. SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

A. Section 1. Name of the Act 

Section 1 sets forth the name of the Act as the Omnibus Coastal Property Insurance 
Reform Act of 2007. 

B. Section 2. Catastrophe Savings Account 

Section 2 adds Article 11 to Title 12. This section creates and sets forth the guidelines 
governing catastrophe savings accounts. The monies contributed to a catastrophe savings 
account can be treated as a deduction from South Carolina state income tax. This account 
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may be used by the taxpayer to finance an insurance policy deductible or to self-insure. 
The total amount that may be contributed for an individual whose qualified deductible is 
$1,000 or less is $2,000; ifthe qualified deductible is more than $1,000, an amount equal 
to the lesser of $15,000 or twice the amount of the qualified deductible. A person who 
self-insures may contribute up to $250,000 to the catastrophe savings account not to 
exceed the value of the individual taxpayer's legal residence. If the taxpayer contributes 
more than the amount allowed, the excess must be withdrawn and treated as income in 
the year of withdrawal. 

The funds can only be deposited into either a regular savings or money market account. 
An individual taxpayer can establish only one account and the account must be 
designated as a catastrophe savings account at the time it is opened. For example, a 
catastrophe savings account opened by Jane Doe would be established and maintained as 
the "catastrophe savings account for the benefit of Jane Doe," or by a similar name 
clearly indicating the name of the taxpayer and the special purpose of the account. 

Distributions from the catastrophe savings account must be treated as income unless the 
funds are withdrawn to cover qualified catastrophe expenses. If expenses do not qualify 
as a qualified catastrophe expense, the sum will be treated as income and subject to a 
2.5% tax penalty. The penalty will not apply if the taxpayer no longer owns the 
residence, or the distribution is from a qualified account and the distribution is made on 
or after the taxpayer reaches age 70. If the account-holder dies, the distributions to heirs 
or devisees will be considered as income to the person who inherits the account, unless 
the distribution is to the surviving spouse. Upon the death of the surviving spouse, any 
distribution or withdrawal will be considered income to the person who inherits the 
account. 

This Department will be working with the South Carolina Department of Revenue on the 
implementation of this and other individual income tax incentives. A brochure 
explaining the tax credits in more detail will be posted on the Department's website in 
July 2007. 

c. Section 3. Individual State Income Tax Credits 

Section 12-6-3660 addresses the state income tax credit available to consumers who 
retrofit their properties to make them more resistant to hurricane loss. Individual 
taxpayers can receive credit of 25% of the cost incurred for the amount of the purchase 
price for qualified materials or $1000. 

Section 12-6-3665 provides an income tax credit up to $1,500 for consumers who 
purchase supplies to retrofit their properties in accordance with the requirements set forth 
in the statute. 

Additionally, § 12-6-3670 provides an income tax credit for excess premiums paid during 
the applicable tax year for property and casualty insurance on the taxpayer's legal 
residence. Excess premium is the amount by which the premium exceeds five percent of 
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the individual's adjusted gross income. Taxpayers must be able to demonstrate to the 
Department of Revenue that they are eligible for the tax credit. Unused credits may be 
carried forward for the five succeeding taxable years. 

D. Section 4. Emergency Powers of the Director of Insurance 

Upon declaration of a state of emergency by the Governor, article 3 confers upon the 
Director of Insurance certain emergency powers during the aftermath of a hurricane. 
Specifically, the Director has the ability to issue emergency regulations applicable to 
insurers, producers and other entities engaged in the business of insurance. Emergency 
regulations issued pursuant to § 38-3-410 are not subject to the 90-day limitation set forth 
in the South Carolina Administrative Procedures Act. The director may extend 
emergency regulations issued under this section for 120 days at a time for as long as the 
conditions that gave rise to the emergency still exist. The text of every emergency 
regulation and any extension issued by the Director must be published in the State 
Register together with an explanation of how the emergency regulation helps facilitate 
recovery from the emergency. The Director is specifically empowered to adopt any 
procedure that will facilitate recovery from the emergency provided the procedure 
complies with the individual protections required by statutes and by the South Carolina 
and U.S. Constitutions. Emergency regulations must be predicated upon the finding that 
there is an immediate threat to the health, welfare and safety of the general public. These 
findings are judicially reviewable under§ 38-3-210. 

E. Section 5. Premium Tax Credit 

This section establishes a credit on premium taxes paid by licensed insurers that write full 
property and casualty insurance coverage within the coastal areas of the state. The credit 
applies to all new business written after December 31, 2007. Surplus lines carriers are 
not eligible for the tax credit as it is the intent of the General Assembly that the tax credit 
apply only to new policies written by licensed insurers. Accordingly, renewal business 
shall not be eligible for the credit. The Department is in the process of drafting the 
guidelines for this program. 

Insurers shall report quarterly the premium and number of new policies written in the 
territory covered by the Wind Pool. Revised premium tax reporting forms and 
instructions for licensed insurers are also being drafted. The revised forms and general 
guidelines for applying for the tax credit will be available on or after October 1, 2007 via 
bulletin. 
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F. Section 6. Insurance Premium Discounts and Credits 

Section 38-75-755 requires all insurers upon the issuance of a new residential policy or a 
renewal to clearly notify the applicant or insured of the availability and range of each 
premium discount, credit, other rate differential, or reduction in deductibles for properties 
that have been retrofitted or constructed to be more resistant to loss due to hurricane. The 
notice must also state what measures the policyholder can take to reduce their windstorm 
premium. For commercial insurance policies, the insurer shall include a notice that 
advises the policyholder that a reduction in premium may be available if the policyholder 
has taken steps to prevent or mitigate losses due to damage from windstom1s. 
Policyholders may obtain additional information about the credits or discounts from their 
insurance agents. This section applies to all policies issued or renewed after December 
31, 2007. The Department will promulgate a notice form that complies with the 
provisions of this section. 

G. Section 7. Annual Public Hearing 

Section 38-3-110 has been amended to require the Director to hold an annual public 
hearing on rates and coverage provided by the South Carolina Wind and Hail 
Underwriting Association (Wind Pool) in the seacoast area annually. At this hearing, the 
Director must provide information and an opportunity for the public to address issues and 
offer input related to rates, territory and other issues conceming the Wind Pool. The 
Director must submit annually a report to the Speaker of the House and the President Pro 
Tempore of the Senate by January 31st about the status of the Wind Pool. The report 
must also include recommendations for change to regulatory or statutory law governing 
the Wind Pool. The first public hearing shall be conducted following the expiration of 
hurricane season in December 2007/January 2008. Notice of the hearing and its location 
will be posted on the Department's website and published in newspapers of general 
statewide circulation. 

H. Section 8. Rates 

Subsection (F) has been added to § 38-73-260. Section 38-73-260(F) provides that the 
Director or his designee may consider the impact of a rate increase request on individual 
territories or insureds when determining whether a rate increase is excessive, inadequate 
or unfairly discriminatory. It also clarifies that rate requests falling within the plus or 
minus seven percent limitation must comply with general requirements that the rate 
request not be excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory. 

This section also requires the Department to review property insurance filings that 
exclude wind coverage after June 1, 2007 to ensure that the rates for such policies reflect 
a discount commensurate with the surcharge previously filed for wind. The requirements 
of this section are not applicable to motor vehicle insurance. Attached as Exhibit A to 
this bulletin are the instructions for calculating this discount. 
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I. Section 9. Credits and Discounts 

Section 38-73-1095 has been amended to require that rating plans for essential property 
insurance in the coastal and seacoast areas include discounts and credits or surcharges 
and debits based upon the factors set forth in the statute. The statute further provides that 
the Department may define by regulation how these factors qualify for credits or 
discounts, and the evidence that must be presented by the policyholder or applicant. This 
provision applies to policies issued or renewed after December 31, 2007. The 
Department will publish a notice of drafting in the June 2007 edition of the State 
Register. 

J. Section 10. South Carolina Wind and Hail Underwriting 
Association 

A number of amendments were made to sections governing the management and 
operation of the Wind Pool. These changes in the law clarify that the Wind Pool is a 
residual market mechanism established to provide residential and commercial wind and 
hail insurance to property owners who are unable to procure this line of insurance in the 
traditional market. Below is a summary of the amendments relating to the operation of 
the Wind Pool: 

> The definition of "insurable property" has been amended to comply with the most 
recent standards adopted by the Building Codes Council and those promulgated by 
the National Manufactured Housing Construction Standards and Safety Act. (See 
S.C. Code Ann. § 38-73-31 0( 4)). These changes are consistent with the Wind Pool's 
current underwriting standards. Additionally, the definition of "coastal area" has 
been changed to conform to the description of the expanded territory outlined in the 
director's March 29, 2007 initial order expanding the Wind Pool territory. (See §38-
75-310(5)). 

> The composition of the Wind Pool board has been altered to include four consumer 
members representing business, single family residential, and multiple family 
residential (such as apartments or condominiums). Recommendations for these 
consumer members are to come from members of the legislative delegations from the 
eight seacoast counties (Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, 
Georgetown, Horry, and Jasper) (See§ 38-75-340(A)(l)). 

> The Wind Pool may employ a multiple-tier rate structure that more accurately reflects 
the relative risks of properties located within a particular tier. (See § 38-75-340(A) 
(8)). 

> Reinsurance for the Wind Pool shall be obtained through an "open and competitive 
process." The new law specifies that the Wind Pool Association is not required to 
follow the S.C. Procurement Code in establishing this process. (See § 38-75-
340(A)(10)). 

> The Department must review the rate structure for the Wind Pool semi-annually in 
accordance with the requirements of§ 38-75-400. 
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'Jr The powers of the governing board and management of the Wind Pool have been 
expanded. The Wind Pool now has the same authority exercised by other residual 
market mechanisms. 

'Jr Any member company seeking participation credit for essential property insurance 
voluntarily written in the coastal area must submit its requests by March 31st of the 
year preceding the year for which credit is sought. 

'Jr The new law reaffirms that the Wind Pool rates are not intended to compete with the 
admitted market. Rates must be set at a level that permits the association to function 
as a self-sustaining mechanism. The Association is required to monitor rate adequacy 
and to notify the Director semi-annually to allow the director to take action to correct 
the rates. Rates adjusted in this manner are not subject to the limitation set forth in § 
38-73-920. Corrective action orders issued by the Director are subject to judicial 
review by the Administrative Law Court. 

'Jr The law now specifies certain criteria the director or his designee must consider 
before expanding the Wind Pool territory. After considering the factors outlined in 
the statute, the Director or his designee must specifically find and declare the 
existence of conditions that threaten to destabilize the market and the continued 
availability of essential property insurance in the seacoast area. The Director may 
also use market surveys, data calls, catastrophe models, reinsurance information and 
other objective sources to support an order of expansion. The area may not be 
expanded more than is necessary to stabilize the market and the expanded area may 
not extend farther than the seacoast area. The General Assembly may approve, 
revise, or vacate an expansion order via the passage of a concurrent resolution. The 
May 23, 2007 expansion order was ratified by this legislation. 

The Department will meet with the management of the Wind Pool board within the 
next few weeks to establish the procedures for monitoring rate adequacy. 

K. Section 11: Mitigation 

Article 8 amends the sections of Chapter 75 that cover mitigation. Additional 
members have been added to the Advisory Council. In addition to the loss mitigation 
grant program set forth in§ 38-75-480, the General Assembly has established a 
Hurricane Damage Mitigation Program. This hurricane mitigation grant program 
shall be known as SC Safe Home. The Advisory Council will provide advice and 
assistance to the Director in the administration of the program. The program is 
designed to provide grants to homeowners to make their properties more resistant to 
loss due to hurricane damage. Funds cannot be used for home repairs. 

The Department is in the process of establishing SC Safe Home. You may access 
infonnation about this program by visiting its website at www.scsafehome.com 
effective June 13, 2007. The Department anticipates that it will be able to accept its 
first application for grant funding on August 15, 2007. The funds available through 
this program must be used solely for retrofitting, not for repairs. Over the course of 
the next few weeks, the Department will promulgate an order specifying the 
retrofitting measures that may be eligible for grants under this program. Limited 
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funds are available for this program. When the program is ready to accept 
applications late this summer, they will be considered on a first come, first serve 
basis. The application and grant guidelines will be posted on the 
www.scsafehome.com website when available. 

The Department is also required pursuant to the provisions of§ 38-75-490 to evaluate 
the feasibility of developing a wind resistance rating scale for South Carolina and to 
report its findings to the legislature. The Department's report is due to the General 
Assembly on March 5, 2008. 

L. Section 12: Catastrophe Models 

Section 38-75-1140 has been amended to require modeling organizations to submit 
supplemental reports to the Department following a material revision to their models. 
The supplemental report must specify the changes to the model, including the list of 
variables that are subject to insurer input. 

M. Section 13: Fees for Use of Catastrophe Models 

Section 38-75-1140 has been amended by adding subsection (G). This section allows 
the Director to recover the costs associated with the review and evaluation of 
catastrophe models by imposing a filing fee on all insurers who use catastrophe or 
computer simulation models and on modelers or modeling organizations that submit 
the model to the department for its review, evaluation or approval. The Director will 
issue an order setting the applicable fees within the next two weeks. 

N. Section 14: Notice of Cancellation and Nonrenewal 

The notice requirements for cancellation and nonrenewal of insurance policies have 
changed as follows: 

Y A policy written for a term of one year or less may be nonrenewed by the insurer 
at its expiration date by giving or mailing written notice of nonrenewal to the 
insured and the agent of record, if any, not less than 60 days prior to the 
expiration date of the policy for any nonrenewal that would be effective between 
November 1st and May 31st; however, for any nonrenewal effective between June 
1st and October 31st notice must be given in the manner described above not less 
than 90 days prior to the expiration date of the policy. 

Y Any insurance policy which has been in effect for less than 120 days and is not a 
renewal of a previously existing policy must provide a 30-day written notice of 
cancellation. An exception is made for nonpayment of premium, in which case, 
not less than ten days written notice must be fumished. The 30-day notice 
requirement applies to: (1) material misrepresentation of fact which, if known to 
the company, would have caused the company not to issue the policy; (2) 
substantial change in the risk assumed, except to the extent that the insurer should 
reasonably have foreseen the change or contemplated the risk in writing the 
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policy; (3) substantial breaches of contractual duties, conditions, or warranties; or 
(4) loss of the insurer's reinsurance covering all or a significant portion of the 
particular policy insured or when continuation of the policy would imperil the 
insurer's solvency. Cancellation based on changes in climatic conditions must be 
based on statistical data relative to South Carolina that has been approved by the 
Department as a basis for substantial change in the risk assumed. 

>- The insurer must inform the consumer of his or her right to request, in writing, a 
review by the Director of the action of the insurer. The notice of cancellation or 
refusal to renew must contain the following statement in bold print to inform the 
insured of this right: 

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Within 30 days of receiving this notice, you or your 
attorney may request in writing that the Director 
review this action to determine whether the insurer 
has complied with South Carolina laws in canceling 
or nomenewing your policy. If this insurer has 
failed to comply with the cancellation or 
nonrenewallaws, the director may require that your 
policy be reinstated. However, the Director is 
prohibited from making underwriting judgments. If 
this insurer has complied with the cancellation or 
nonrenewal laws, the director does not have the 
authority to overturn this action. 

>- Except for pre-term cancellation falling within the provisions of § 38-75-730, 
insurers must give 60 days' notice of any cancellation or refusal to renew that is 
effective between November 1st and May 31st and 90 days' notice of cancellation 
or nonrenewal that falls between June 1st and October 31.81 

The absence of a specific effective date in Sections 14 and 15 of the legislation has 
prompted a number of questions about the effectiveness and application of these 
provisions to existing insurance policies. What follows is a summary of the 
Department's review and analysis of the law applicable to this issue. 

Effective Date of the Cancellation/Nonrenewal Provisions 

The language in §§ 14 and 15 do not specify an effective date. Therefore, these 
provisions are effective upon signature of the Governor. Inasmuch as the bill was signed 
by the Governor today, the effective date for purposes of these sections is June 11, 2007. 

Application of New Cancellation/Nonrenewal Provisions 

These new provisions are effective June 11, 2007 for all policies issued or renewed on or 
after this date. 1 Generally, changes to statutes that occur between insurance policy 

1 "A statute that becomes effective after the date of issuance of an insurance policy does not apply to that 
policy absent legislative intent that the statute be applied retroactively. Pulliam v. Doe, 246 S.C. 106, 142 

8 



renewals cannot be incorporated into an insurance policy without unconstitutionally 
impairing the obligations of the parties under the contract. See e.g., U.S.C.A. Art. I, 
§10;2 S.C. Const. Art.§ 43

; G-H Ins. Agency, Inc. v. Continental Insurance Co., 278 S.C. 
241, 294 S.E.2d 336 (1982); also American National Fire Ins. Co. v. Smith Grading and 
Paving, Inc., 317 S.C. 445, 454 S.E.2d 897 (1995). 

Also, absent legislative intent to the contrary, there is a presumption under South 
Carolina law that statutory enactments are to be prospective rather than retroactive in 
effect. A statute that becomes effective after the date of issuance of an insurance policy 
does not apply to that policy absent legislative intent that the statute be applied 
retroactively. See Pulliam v. Doe, 246 S.C. 106, 142 S.E.2d 861 (1965); see also Mutual 
Aid Loan & Investment Co. v. Logan, 55 S.C. 295, 33 S.E. 372 (1899) (statute does not 
apply to existing mortgage contract absent legislative intent to apply retroactively). 
There is no indication in the language in the statute that these sections are to be applied 
retroactively. Accordingly, these sections do not apply to policies issued prior to, or in 
existence prior to, the effective date of these provisions. 

The revised cancellation and notice provisions apply to all property insurance and 
casualty insurance, as defined in § 38-1-20, except for automobile insurance and any 
other type of property or casualty insurance as to which there are specific statutory 
provisions of law governing cancellation, nonrenewal, or renewal of policies. The 
provisions apply to policies issued by licensed and eligible surplus lines insurers. 

EXPEDITED FILING PROCESS-PERSONAL LINES COVERAGE 

To comply with the provisions of this legislation, insurers may make this change by filing 
for approval of an endorsement which contains the notice set forth in the statute. To 
expedite the approval of these filings, the Department has established the process set 
forth below. 

Attached as Exhibit B to this bulletin is a filing transmittal form for the expedited review 
of cancellation and nonrenewal notice forms. Insurers wishing to receive expedited 

S.E.2d 861 (1965); see also Mutual Aid Loan & lnvestment Co. v. Logan, 55 S.C. 295, 33 S.E. 372 (1899) 
(statute does not apply to existing mortgage contract absent legislative intent to apply retroactively). "A 
statute is not to be applied retroactively unless that result is so clearly compelled as to leave no room for 
doubt. South Carolina Nat'! Bank v. South Carolina Tax Comm'n, 297 S.C. 279, 376 S.E.2d 512 (1989); 
Hyder v. Jones, 271 S.C. 85, 245 S.E.2d 123 (1978). The statute must contain express words evincing an 
intent that it be retroactive or words necessarily implying such an intent. Pulliam v. Doe, supra. The only 
exception to this rule is a statutory enactment that effects a change in remedy or procedure, Jenkins v. 
Meares, 302 S.C. 142,394 S.E.2d 317 (1990); Hyderv. Jones, supra." 
2 No State shall enter into any Treaty, Alliance, or Confederation; grant Letters of Marque and Reprisal; 
coin Money; emit Bills of Credit; make any Thing but gold and silver Coin a Tender in Payment of Debts; 
pass any Bill of Attainder, ex post facto Law, or Law impairing the Obligation of Contracts, or grant any 
Title of Nobility .... 
3 No bill of attainder, ex post facto law, law impairing the obligation of contracts, nor law granting any title 
of nobility or hereditary emolument, shall be passed and no conviction shall work corruption ofblood or 
forfeiture of estate. 
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treatment of its filing for approval must complete the EXPEDITED CANCELLATION 
AND NONRENEWAL ENDORSEMENT FILING TRANSMITTAL FORM as directed. 
In addition, the insurer(s) submitting this filing must certify that the endorsement 
complies with the notice requirements of South Carolina law. The certification must be 
signed by an officer of the insurer. Certification is made by the officer signing the 
appropriate blank on the transmittal form. 

To be complete, a form filing must include the following: 

1. A completed, certified Form Filing Transmittal form for each insurer and line 
to which it is applicable. 

2. One copy of each endorsement. 
3. A postage-paid, self-addressed envelope large enough to accommodate the 

return. 

If this filing is for multiple companies, please provide a copy of the transmittal form for 
each company and an extra copy for return to the company. (i.e., 7 companies = 8 
copies). PLEASE DO NOT SUBMIT THESE FILINGS VIA THE SERFF 
SYSTEM. To expedite delivery to the appropriate area, conspicuously mark the 
envelope submitted to the Department "OMNIBUS NOTICE." 

To address new policies or renewals that may fall within the next 60 days, the 
Department will deploy the resources necessary to complete the review of complete, 
properly submitted filings within 72 hours' receipt. The Department will accept filings 
via regular United States mail or overnight delivery. 

COMMERCIAL FILINGS-USE AND FILE 

Commercial insurance forms are not subject to prior approval under South Carolina law. 
See S.C. Code Ann. Regs. § 69-64 (2005).4 Forms that comply with South Carolina law 
are use and file. Companies should file a copy of the revised notice forms with the 
Department within 30 days of use. 

The law requires that an insurer provide a minimum 60 days'notice during non-hurricane 
months and 90 days' notice during hurricane season. Nothing in the law precludes an 
insurer from providing more notice than required by statute. 

4 Exempt Commercial Policy Forms: In connection with an exempt commercial policy, an insurer may use 
any commercial insurance policy, contract, certificate or endorsement, including any form or endorsement 
developed by an advisory organization. If the form or endorsement has not been previously filed with the 
Department by an advisory organization or by the insurer, the insurer utilizing the form or endorsement 
must notify the Department of its use by mailing a copy of the form or endorsement to the Department as 
soon as practicable after the insurer begins using it. An insurer is required to maintain a desk file of all 
forms or endorsements used in connection with exempt commercial policies written in this State and to 
exhibit the desk file to the Department upon its request. 
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0. South Carolina Coastal Captive Insurance Companies 

Section 16 establishes the "South Carolina Coastal Captive Insurance Act" which 
provides for the formation and licensing of a South Carolina coastal captive company 
("coastal captive") authorized to write primary and excess wind and storm surge 
insurance coverage for property in South Carolina. A coastal captive shall not 
underwrite any risk outside of South Carolina. The law: 

'r Provides for the formation of a South Carolina coastal captive company ("coastal 
captive"), which can provide primary and excess wind and storm surge insurance 
coverage for property in South Carolina. 

'r Exempts coastal captives from some of the requirements to which traditional 
captives are subject, the most significant of which is the partial lifting of the total 
prohibition on writing homeowners insurance, permitting coastal captives to 
provide excess coverage for the perils of wind and storm surge. 

'r Gives the Director discretionary authority to approve or disapprove a coastal 
captive, and expressly forbids him from issuing a license without making certain 
findings as to adequate capitalization and/or reinsurance, soundness of business 
plan and potential for financial hazard to policy holders, compliance with the 
statutorily prescribed minimum requirements for licensure and consistency of the 
business plan with the legislative purpose. 

'r Gives the Director discretion, on a case-by-case basis, to waive other provisions 
of the chapter determined to be inappropriate in light of the "nature of the risks 
insured" and the intent of the article. 

'r Gives the Director discretion to restrict the form of the captive and to deny a 
license based a finding that its corporate form or type of organization is not 
feasible. 

'r Exempts a coastal captive insurance company formed as an association captive 
from the following requirements: 

o the one-year seasoning requirement; and 

o the requirement to use a fronting company for personal lines coverage. 

The legislation includes certain certain consumer safe-guards, such as: 

1) Substantially heightened capital and surplus requirements, particularly for 
non-fronted coastal captives, and other captives that may sell directly to the 
public (personal lines). 

2) Greater transparency; certain confidentiality provisiOns normally afforded 
captives under Chapter 90 are not applicable. Final reports of coastal 
captives' financial condition prepared by both the captive and the Department 
of Insurance are available for public inspection. 
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3) Coastal captive must include a notice and acceptance in 14-point bold type on 
every application and declaration page of every policy advising the consumer 
that the coastal captive is not subject to all of the insurance laws and 
regulations of the state and that insurance guaranty funds are not available. 

Persons interested in forming a coastal captive insurance company should follow the 
guidelines for licensure as a captive set forth on the Department's website at 
http://www.doi.sc.gov/Eng/Public/Captive/ AppForms.aspx. 

III. QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 

The Department's preliminary responses to questions that have been raised about the 
implementation of this legislation will be posted on the Department's website by June 15, 
2007. Additional questions may be forwarded in writing to James Byrd, Deputy Director 
for Market Services, at OmnibusQ&A@doi.sc.gov. Questions will be answered and 
posted on the Department's website as soon as possible. 
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EXHIBIT A 

Wind Exclusion Credit 

Section 38-73-260 of the 1976 Code as last amended by Act 332 of 2006, is further 
amended by adding at the end: 
"(F) (2) With respect to fire, allied lines, and homeowner's rates, the director or his 
designee shall specifically review all filings made on or after June 1, 2007, to ensure that 
each insurer's rates for policies that exclude wind coverage reflect a discount 
commensurate with that insurer's previously filed surcharge for policies that include 
wind coverage." 

When a company is giving a credit for excluding wind and hail, they should be consistent 
with the hurricane provision/surcharge loaded into the rates; taking into consideration 
that the provision usually includes expenses. 

There are a number of ways a company can calculate the credit. 

1. If a company uses peril rating and therefore calculates a wind premium and a non­
wind premium, they can simply charge the non-wind premium. No credit is 
needed. 

2. If a company does not calculate a separate wind premium, they need to calculate 
the p01iion of the total loss ratio associated with wind that is loaded into the rates, 
and therefore, varies by rating territory. 

Example: If the loss ratio = 120%, wind is 110% and non-wind 10%, the 
wind portion= 92% (110/120). 

The base rate is adjusted by the portion of the total loss ratio associated with 
wind. ($1,000 base rate- $920 = $80 non-wind) 

3. The company may assume 100% of the hurricane catastrophe ratio is wind, and 
none of the non-hurricane catastrophe and non-catastrophe ratios are wind. In 
that case, if the hurricane ratio is 106.8% and the non-hurricane ratio is 13.2%, the 
base rate is adjusted by 89% (106.8/120). 

The above examples provide ways to calculate the credit. The Department understands 
there may be a number of other methods employed. 

Regardless of the method used, the insurer must comply with South Carolina law. 
Additionally, the insurer must also meet the following requirements: 



1. If a model is used in developing the losses, the same model must be used in 
calculating the credit. Note that the higher the modeled losses, the more 
generous the credit 

2. The credits must be consistent with the hurricane provision/surcharge loaded into 
the rates; taking into consideration the provision usually includes expenses. 

3. The credits must be developed to the zone they apply 

4. The total loss ratio must include the appropriate loss adjustment and fixed 
expenses. 

If you have any questions on the credit calculations please contact Carla Griffin at 
cgriffin((i!doi.sc.gov or 803-737-6781. 



EXHIBIT B
EXPEDITED CANCELLATION AND NONRENEWAL ENDORSEMENT

FILING TRANSMITTAL FORM

Department Use only

Company Name(s) Domicile NAIC # FEIN #

Contact Info for Filer

Name and address of Filer(s) Telephone # FAX # e-mail

Filing information

Line of Insurance (see attachment)

Company Program Title (Marketing
title) (if applicable)

Filing Type ** see note below

This application is used with

Effective Date Requested

Filing date

Company Tracking Number

To be complete, a form filing must include the following:
• A completed Form Filing Transmittal form for each insurer.
• One copy of each endorsement.
• A postage-paid, self-addressed envelope large enough to accommodate the
return.

CERTIFICATION OF AUTHORIZED COMPANY OFFICER

I, , a duly authorized

officer of  Insurance
Company, am authorized to certify on behalf of the company making this filing that the attached form filing complies

with the notice and cancellation requirements of South Carolina law for the lines to which they pertain.

Signature Print Name Title



COMPLETED SAMPLE FORM 

EXPEDITED CANCELLATION AND NONRENEW AL ENDORSEMENT 
FILING TRANSMITTAL FORM 

Department Use only 

Company Name(s) Domicile NAIC# 
ABC Insurance Company NY 0000-99999 

Contact Information for Filer 

Name and address of Filer(s) Telephone# FAX# 

John Doe (Form Filing) 501-555-5555 501-555-5551 
Regulatory Compliance 
ABC Insurance Co. 
12345 Fifth Ave 
New York, NY 10234 

Filing information 

Line of Insurance (see attachment) Commercial General Liability 
Company Program Title (Marketing title) General Liability Program 
(if applicable) 
Filing Type Form (Endorsement) 

FEIN# 
99-1234567 

e-mail 

Jolm,~!o<:@<t_b_<:in'i.,<:oJJl 

This application is used with (Insert policy form number to which the application attaches) 
Effective Date Requested 01-01-02 (Enter your desired effective date) 
Filing date (Date Company sends filing) 
Company Tracking Number ABC-EP-2001-0 I (Enter your filing tracking number, if applicable) 

To be complete, a form filing must include the following: 
• A completed Fom1 Filing Transmittal form for each insurer 
• One copy of each endorsement. 
• A postage-paid, self-addressed envelope large enough to accommodate the 

return. 

CERTIFICATION OF AUTHORIZED COMPANY OFFICER 

I, [Name of officer typed or printed , a duly authorized 
officer of [Name of Insurer typed or printed Insurance 
Company, am authorized to certify on behalf of the company making this tiling that the attached form 
t1ling complies with the notice and cancellation requirements of South Carolina law for the lines to which 
they pertain. 

Signature Print Name: Title: 
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