
May 1, 2010: License Renewal and CE Compliance Deadline 
 

South Carolina law now requires producers to renew their license and pay a $25 li-
cense renewal fee every two years.  The first deadline is May 1, 2010, which coincides 
with the deadline for compliance with the state’s continuing insurance education (CE) 
requirements.  
 

All producers licensed in South Carolina as of June 2, 2009 are required to  
renew their producer license and pay a $25 license renewal fee by May 1, 2010.   
 

The $25 license renewal fee is payable as a part of the online producer license renewal 
process.  Producers receiving a CE exemption are still required to renew their license 
and pay the $25 license renewal fee by May 1, 2010. 
 

These license renewal requirements do not take the place of CE requirements or the 
CE recordkeeping fee.  More information on compliance requirements may be found on 
pages 2-3 of this publication. 
 
Penalties for Failure to Notify the Department of Address Change 
 

In accordance with South Carolina law, the Department is in the process of imposing 
administrative penalties against producers who failed to notify the Department of the 
change in their business, mailing or residence street address .  Section 38-43-107  
requires producers to notify the Department of changes in their business, mailing or 
residence street address within 30 days of the change.  This section also provides that 
producers who fail to notify the Department of a change in legal name or any of these 
addresses are subject to the penalties set forth in section 38-2-10.    Since July 2009, 
the Department has been notifying producers through bulletins, agency notices and 
other communications to update their address and other contact information. 
  
Electronic Notice Subscription 
 

Department licensees will soon receive an email about the ability to electronically  sub-
scribe to bulletins, notices, license renewal and other regulatory information from the 
Department provided a current email address has been furnished.  By clicking the sub-
scription link, you will automatically be included on the Department's electronic notifica-
tions list.   By subscribing to electronic notifications, you consent, agree and understand 
that no paper copy(ies) will be provided.  If you subscribe, notices, correspondence and 
other important regulatory communications including license renewal, lapse notices and 
cancellation notices will only be provided to you electronically.  You have the ability to 
delete your name from the subscription list.  To delete your name, you must follow the 
email instructions provided about how to "unsubscribe" from this service. 

The Department   
encourages producers to 
renew your license NOW!   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Waiting until the last  
minute may result in  
processing delays  that 
could affect your license 
status. 

Don’t Wait! 

 

Attention 
All Producers: 

 

New  
Producer License 

Requirements! 

Don’t Let Your  
License Lapse! 

Failure to renew the pro-
ducer license and pay the 
$25 license renewal fee by 
May 1, 2010 will result in 
the lapse of the producer’s 
license, appointment(s), 
and any other license tied 
to the producer license 
(i.e., broker’s license, 
agency  license). A pro-
ducer whose license(s) 
and appointment(s) lapse 
for noncompliance is pro-
hibited from transacting 
any insurance business  
until the license(s) and ap-
pointment(s) are rein-
stated.   



 

 
 

License Renewal Requirements: 2008– 2010 Compliance Period 

License renewal requirements vary depending upon an individual producer’s licensure status. For 2008-
2010 compliance period, license renewal requirements include: 
 
 

 Renew license by May 1, 2010; 
 Pay $25 biennial license renewal fee to DOI by May 1, 2010; 
 Comply with continuing insurance education (CE) requirements by May 1, 2010; and 
 Pay the CE recordkeeping fee to Prometric by May 1, 2010. 
 
Note: May 1, 2010 is the final date certain compliance deadline.  Future compliance deadlines will  
 be individualized based on each licensee’s birth month and birth year. 

 
 
Resident Producers with a CE Requirement 
 

Resident producers licensed as of June 2, 2009 must renew their license and pay the $25 biennial  
license renewal fee.  They must also complete 24 hours of CE, including 3 hours of ethics, and pay a 
$15 recordkeeping fee if licensed as of April 30, 2009.  If a resident producer was licensed between May 
1 and  October 31, 2009, the licensee must instead complete 3 hours of ethics and pay a $7.50  
recordkeeping fee. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

As a part of their 24 hours of CE, multi-line producers licensed as of April 30, 2009 must 
complete a minimum of 8 credit hours in each line of authority.  This is in addition to the 3 
hours in ethics requirement. 

 
 
Resident Producers without a CE Requirement 
 

Resident producers that have received an exemption from CE requirements are not required to  
complete CE hours or pay the CE recordkeeping fee.  These producers must still comply with the  
license renewal requirements.  As such, if the exempt resident producer was licensed as of June 2, 
2009, he or she must renew their license and pay the $25 biennial license renewal fee. 

Producer Licensure Date

License 
Renewal 
Requirement

Biennial License 
Renewal Fee

CE 
Requirement

CE 
Recordkeeping 
Fee

Through April 30, 2009 Yes $25 24 hrs $15 
May 1 - June 2, 2009 Yes $25 3 hrs ethics $7.50 
June 3 - October 31, 2009 n/a n/a 3 hrs ethics $7.50 
November 1, 2009 - April 30, 2010 n/a n/a n/a n/a

Resident Producers with a CE Requirement

Producer Licensure Date

License 
Renewal 
Requirement

Biennial License 
Renewal Fee

CE 
Requirement

CE 
Recordkeeping 
Fee

Through June 2, 2009 Yes $25 n/a n/a
June 3, 2009 - April 30, 2010 n/a n/a n/a n/a

Resident Producers w/out a CE Requirement



(continued) 

License Renewal Requirements: 2008– 2010 Compliance Period 

Producers may renew their license and pay the $25 license renewal fee any time before May 1, 2010 by  
using one of the two options below: 
 

 Option #1: Complete the Department’s online renewal process available at  
   ww.doi.sc.gov/licensing/producer. 
 

 Option #2: Complete NIPR’s online renewal process available at  
   www.nipr.com. 

 

Please do not mail or submit paper renewal applications. 
Paper renewal applications will not be processed by the Department. 

Non-Resident Producers 
 

Non-resident producers are not required to complete CE hours.  These producers must still  
comply with the license renewal and CE recordkeeping fee requirements.  As such, if the  
non-resident producer was licensed as of June 2, 2009, he or she must renew their license and pay the 
$25 biennial license renewal fee.  Non-residents must also pay a $15 recordkeeping fee if licensed as of 
April 30, 2009.  If a non-resident producer was licensed between May 1 and October 31, 2009, the licen-
see must instead pay a $7.50 recordkeeping fee. 

 
Limited Lines Producers 
 

Limited lines producers are not required to complete CE hours or pay the CE recordkeeping fee.  These 
producers must still comply with the license renewal requirements.  As such, if the limited lines resident  
producer was licensed as of June 2, 2009, he or she must renew their license and pay the $25 biennial 
license renewal fee. 

Producer Licensure Date

License 
Renewal 
Requirement

Biennial License 
Renewal Fee

CE 
Requirement

CE 
Recordkeeping 
Fee

Through April 30, 2009 Yes $25 n/a $15 
May 1 - June 2, 2009 Yes $25 n/a $7.50 
June 3 - October 31, 2009 n/a n/a n/a $7.50 
November 1, 2009 - April 30, 2010 n/a n/a n/a n/a

Non-Resident Producers

Producer Licensure Date

License 
Renewal 
Requirement

Biennial License 
Renewal Fee

CE 
Requirement

CE 
Recordkeeping 
Fee

Through June 2, 2009 Yes $25 n/a n/a
June 3, 2009 - April 30, 2010 n/a n/a n/a n/a

Limited Lines Producers

License Renewal Requirements 
 

SC Department of Insurance 
ww.doi.sc.gov 
803-737-6095 

agntmail@doi.sc.gov 

Continuing Education Requirements 
 

Prometirc 
www.prometric.com 

800-490-6551 
pro.ce-service@prometric.com 


