Producer

Resident Producer

Section I: Convicted of a Crime
If the applicant has previously been convicted of a crime, either a misdemeanor or a felony, the following documentation needs to be submitted to the department:


Original South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) Report
If the applicant is cleared for licensure, the South Carolina Department of Insurance will notify the applicant by letter. When the applicant receives the department's letter, the applicant can proceed with the examination and any other requirements under Section II.


Section II
If the applicant has not been convicted of a crime, either a misdemeanor or felony, the following is required:

  • Application for Individual License, Form 3506: This application is only for resident licensed producers amending their license and for producers moving to South Carolina from another state. New resident applicants must apply online.  
  • License fee of $25: The fee is not pro-rated and is non-refundable and non-transferable.
  • Submit the original SLED report.
  • Exam Report from PSI, if applicable: The exam report expires 12 months after the date of issuance. View exam content outlines. Contact PSI directly at 800-733-9267 or online to register for the state licensing examination.
  • Proof of Series 6 or 7 must be provided if the applicant is applying for variable contracts. A copy of the National Association of Securities Dealers (NASD) Central Registration Directory (CRD) "print screen" showing passage of the appropriate exam is acceptable. The applicant's CRD number must be on the application.
  • Title producers only need to submit the Financial Interest Disclosure, Form 3600.
  • Pre-need producers only need to submit:
  • Only the life exam is required.
  • A copy of your South Carolina funeral director's license.
  • Letter of employment from a South Carolina licensed funeral home.


If the applicant was previously licensed as a resident producer in another state and is applying for a South Carolina resident license, items 1-2 from above and if not able to verify on the State Producer Licensing Database, a letter of clearance is required.
 

Non-Resident Producer

  • Non-resident applicants must apply online.
  • Complete the Application for Individual License, Form 3506.
  • Pay the license fee of $25. The fee is not pro-rated and is non-refundable and non-transferable.
  • Submit home state certification. If license status cannot be verified on the State Producer Licensing Database (SPLD), certification from the applicant's home state will be required.
  • Provide proof of Series 6 or 7. If the applicant is applying for variable contracts, their National Association of Securities Dealers (NASD) Central Registration Directory (CRD) number must be on the application.
  • Title producers only must complete the Financial Interest Disclosure, Form 3600.    
  • Pre-Need producers only will need to submit:
  • Submit home state certification. If license status cannot be verified on the State Producer Licensing Database (SPLD), certification from the applicant's home state will be required.
  • A copy of your South Carolina funeral director's license.
  • Letter of employment from South Carolina licensed funeral home.