Bondsman, Runner & Surety Bondsman Requirements
Only individuals who are residents of South Carolina can be licensed as a professional bondsman, runner, or surety bondsman. All applicants must be pre-approved by the department before registering for the pre-licensing course. Approved applicants for licensure must complete 20 hours of bail bonding pre-licensing education and successfully complete the licensing examination to obtain a certificate.
Exam & Background Check
The department has contracted with PSI to conduct its examination program. Contact PSI directly at 800-733-9267 to register for your exam. View exam content outlines.
A background investigation will be conducted by the South Carolina State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) and the FBI records will be checked. No person will be licensed if they have been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, to a felony or any crime involving moral turpitude within the past 10 years.
If the department approves the application, the licensee must file the original license issued by the department with the clerk of court in the county where the principle place of business is located. The clerk can provide certified copies to be filed with the other counties in which a bondsman conducts bail bond business.
If the application is denied, a letter will be issued by the department notifying the applicant in writing of the reason for such denial.