Address Change Request

South Carolina law requires all licensees to notify the department of any change in address within 30 days. Failure to notify the department with the 30-day statutory time frame constitutes a violation of the South Carolina insurance laws. It is the statutory responsibility of the licensees to make certain their mailing, home, email, and/or business address records with the South Carolina Department of Insurance are up to date. Having an inaccurate address and other contact information on file with the department may result in licensees not receiving important notices and other communications.

Procedures for Making an Address Change

Option A

  1. Go to the Change Address/Phone/Email page on the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) website

  2. Complete one of the identification options and follow the on-screen instructions.

Option B

  1. Login to Online Services.

  2. Proceed to update your records.

    1. If you have created a user ID and password but do not remember them, please send an email to our technology department with your name and South Carolina license number and you will receive an email advising your password has been reset. Once you have this information, log in and proceed to update your records.
    2. If you do not have a user ID and password, select "Create an Account." There is no cost to create an account. You will be asked to type in your social security number and date of birth.
  3. After all of the questions have been answered, select "Next" and the screen will advance for you to select a user ID and password known only to you. Once the information is entered and saved, your information will be displayed on the screen. Changes can then be made to update your records.

Please protect your user ID and password information.

Disciplinary Action

Licensees may be subject to administrative disciplinary action for not timely notifying the Department of an address change. In accordance with Section 38-2-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, individuals could be subject to administrative penalties up to $2,500 for each violation of South Carolina insurance laws.

Effective July 1, 2009, the department will no longer accept paper requests for address changes. If you are licensed in your home state, follow Option A procedures. If you are not licensed in your home state, follow Option B procedures.