Appraiser

NIPR Apply or Renew                 Print My License                             Change Contact Info  


           Search the SCDOI Database For My License                          Letters of Certification                     Exam Content Outlines       
  1. Licensing Requirements
  2. Emergency Appraisers

Title 38, Chapter 49 of the South Carolina Code of Laws defines the regulations and requirements for motor vehicle physical damage appraisers. Please visit our Adjusters or Public Adjusters page if you looking for the licensing requirements for those license types.

Appraiser licenses are renewed in October of odd-numbered years. The fee is $80.




Resident Appraisers



The following are requirements to become a resident appraiser:

    • Complete the application for appraiser license.
    • The license fee is $80. The fee is not pro-rated and is non-refundable and non-transferable.
    • Provide the original South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) report.
    • The original exam report from PSI showing the applicant has passed the appraiser examination. This certificate expires 12 months after issuance. Contact PSI directly at 800-733-9267 to register for the state licensing exam. View exam content outlines.
    • Letter of Clearance: A letter of clearance, less than 60 days old, is required if the applicant was previously licensed as a resident producer in another state.


 Non-Resident Appraisers



 The following are requirements to become a resident appraiser:

  • Complete the application for appraiser license.
  • The license fee is $80 and is not pro-rated, non-refundable, or non-transferable. 
  • If unable to verify license status in the appraiser’s home state, certification from the applicant's resident Department of Insurance is required. The certification must be legible and less than 90 days old. The certificate must show the applicant is licensed in his or her home state as an appraiser and that an appraiser examination has been passed. If the applicant's home state does not require an appraiser examination, then a certificate can be used from another state where the applicant is licensed and has taken and passed an appraiser examination.
  • If the above cannot be provided, then the applicant will be required to pass South Carolina's appraiser examination. Registration for South Carolina's appraiser examination is done through PSI Services LLC. Contact PSI directly at 800-733-9267. View exam content outlines.

Change of Address Requirements

South Carolina law requires all licensees to notify the Department of any change in address within 30 days (business, email, mailing, and residential street addresses). 


If you have any additional questions, please visit our FAQs:  FAQ Icon